Women Lead The Pitch

Cricket Australia announces 2016-17 Women’s International Cricket Schedule and KFC T20INTL venues

Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars to host South Africa and New Zealand during 2016-17 season

  • Venues for the KFC T20INTL Series v Sri Lanka (played as double headers with the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars vs New Zealand WT20INTL series) are confirmed as Melbourne, Geelong, and Adelaide – all broadcast on Channel Nine
  • Manuka Oval, North Sydney Oval and Coffs Harbour International Stadium to host Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars v South Africa
  • Prime Minister’s XI to be played as T20 format on 15 February with squad taking on Sri Lanka
  • Adelaide Oval to host International Australia Day fixture for the next five years

The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars will host South Africa and New Zealand across One-Day International and T20 International contests during the 2016-17 cricket season, including double header matches with the KFC T20INTL Series between the Australian men’s team and Sri Lanka in Melbourne, Geelong, and Adelaide. All double headers will be broadcast live on Channel Nine.

fiji-cricThe Australia women’s team will begin their summer with a five match one-day international series against a South Africa women’s side, beginning on 18 November. The series will begin with two matches at Canberra’s Manuka Oval (18 November, 20 November), continuing at North Sydney Oval (23 November) before concluding with two matches at Coffs Harbour International Stadium (27 November, 29 November).

The season will continue in February 2017 when the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars take on the New Zealand women’s team in a three match T20 international series that will be played as double headers with the KFC T20INTL Series between the Australia men’s team and Sri Lanka. The joint T20 international series will be played at the MCG on Friday 17 February and Adelaide Oval on Wednesday 22 February, while Geelong’s Kardinia Park will play host to international cricket for the first time when T20 action arrives onSunday 19 February.

MUST READ  Information about COVID-19 rapid antigen tests

Geelong will become the 11th venue in Australia currently accredited to host international cricket. Sri Lanka will commence their tour of Australia with a T20 fixture against the Prime Minister’s XI on 15 February at Manuka Oval.

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull said “The PM’s XI is a fine tradition. It’s a valuable opportunity to develop and showcase Australia’s cricketing future. I look forward to continuing this tradition next year and watching a fierce contest against Sri Lanka.”

The KFC T20INTL Series takes the action and excitement of the KFC Big Bash League to the international stage, giving families around Australia the chance to see some of the best players in the world compete over three hours. Adult tickets are available from $30, while the Kids in for Free offer returns for 2016-17. The T20 Family Zone will also be in place for all three double-header fixtures, offering fans young and old with plenty of entertainment options both on and off the pitch.

This announcement completes the schedule for the 2016-17 international summer of cricket and provides fans around the country more reasons to attend, according to Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland.

“We’re excited to be able to finalise our venues for the T20 International double headers this summer and also announce the full Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars schedule.” “The women’s game in Australia is seeing phenomenal growth in participation and following for our National Team. “Girls and women are playing cricket in record numbers and participation growth last summer was fuelled by the incredibly successful launch of the Women’s Big Bash League.


“We’d like to thank Channel Nine for their commitment to the women’s game as well. It’s fantastic to be able to have the Southern Stars accessible to fans around the country and the world.

“Whilst cricket has had a national female competition for more than 80 years, we are committed to further investment to grow the female game. The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars are the world’s number one ranked women’s team – and our female cricketers are deservedly the best paid of all women’s team sports in our country. “Our female cricketers are wonderful role models and we are delighted to see their increasing exposure is inspiring more and more girls to play cricket.”

On taking international cricket to Geelong, Mr Sutherland said:

“We’d like to thank the Victorian Government, Cricket Victoria and Kardinia Park Stadium Trust for their terrific support to extend the reach of international cricket to Geelong. We’re committed to taking the game to as many parts of the country as possible and we continue to work with regional areas around Australia on how we can make this happen.

“Geelong proved its capability to host cricket last summer with a successful BBL exhibition match between the Melbourne Stars and Melbourne Renegades attracting more than 10,000 people. We’re really looking forward to the people of the Geelong region and beyond packing out the stadium and supporting the women’s and men’s national sides.

MUST READ  Major milestone on road to WestConnex opening

Speaking on Adelaide, Mr Sutherland said:

“We’ve been working closely with the South Australian Government and SACA to secure marquee matches in the state long term and we’d like to thank both parties for their support.   We’re pleased to be able to announce today that Adelaide Oval will host an International Australia Day cricket fixture for the next five years.”

Tickets to the KFC T20INTL Series will go on sale to the General Public from Friday 2 September. For priority access and a 20% discount on gold and platinum seats from 30 August, fans are encouraged to sign up to the Australian Cricket Family at www.cricket.com.au/acf before 21 August. Membership is free. Tickets for groups of 10 or more people and official hospitality at the KFC T20INTL Series are on sale now, with more information available at www.cricketaustralia.com.au.

Tickets to the Prime Minister’s XI v Sri Lanka T20 match will also go on sale to the Australian Cricket Family from Tuesday 30 August and to the general public from Friday 2 September. Hospitality enquiries for this match can be directed to hospitality@cricket.com.au or (02) 6239 7004.

Tickets to the remainder of the 2016-17 International summer of cricket are on sale now at www.cricket.com.au/tickets, and to view the full 2016-17 international schedule visit www.cricket.com.au/series.