Ready For The Challenge

Qantas tour of South Africa squad named

The Cricket Australia National Selection Panel have named a 15-man squad for the Qantas Tour of South Africa.

Steve Smith (C) NSW
David Warner (VC) NSW
George Bailey TAS
Scott Boland VIC
James Faulkner TAS
Aaron Finch VIC
John Hastings VIC
Travis Head SA
Mitchell Marsh WA
Shaun Marsh WA
Joe Mennie SA
Chris Tremain VIC
Matthew Wade VIC
Daniel Worrall SA
Adam Zampa SA


aus-cricriWith Australia’s pace spearheads Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood both missing the series the fast-bowling attack sees the inclusion of three debutants; Victorian Chris Tremain and South Australian’s Joe Mennie and Daniel Worrall.


Commenting on the inclusions of Tremain, Mennie and Worrall, National Selector Rod Marsh said: “Chris, Joe and Daniel all had terrific summers last year and have also impressed us during the recent Australia A series with consistent performances.

“They are young players with a bright future who thoroughly deserve their selection and we look forward to seeing them work with John Hastings and Scott Boland, who have both performed well for Australia since returning from injury.”

The Qantas Tour of South Africa consists of six matches with the first match to be played against Ireland on 27 September followed by five matches against South Africa beginning on 30 September.