Minister for the Arts Don Harwin today announced the nine candidates recommended for appointment to the National Arts School Board following the expressions of interest (EOI) process launched in March this year. “A fresh new line up of the board will invigorate the National Arts School with bold new thinking and enterprise that will further its standing as the leading visual arts school in NSW and create a more sustainable future through academic, cultural and philanthropic activities,” said Mr Harwin.

The EOI called for applicants who could demonstrate commercial acumen and partnership development experience, that they had led organisational reform and enhanced performance, philanthropy, audit and governance skills and experience across visual arts (including NAS alumni).

The nine recommended members are:

· Carolyn Fletcher (Recommended Chair) Executive Director and CEO for Opportunity Cambodia, Senior Consultant Black Isle Group (leadership organisation). Former member of the Darling Harbour Authority and the Sydney Harbour Foreshore Authority Boards, former Chair of the Australian Theatre for Young People (ATYP) and current member of the board for the Australian Haydn Ensemble and Rotary Club of Sydney.
· Jennifer Byrne – Journalist, broadcaster and former patron of Coastrek, which has raised $20m for the Fred Hollows Foundation. Long-time ambassador for the Australian Indigenous Education Programme.
· Brooke Horne – Co-founder and Director of Philanthropy of The Equality Campaign, the lead organisation for ‘Yes’ in the 2017 Marriage Equality Survey, which raised $10m in under two years. Further experience in film and television direction and legal roles.
· David Kent – Former Chairman of the Brett Whiteley Foundation and the former Deputy Chairman of the Art Gallery of NSW Foundation. Mr Kent is also the former Executive Chairman of Everest Financial Group and a member of the French Australian Chamber of Commerce & Industry.
· Guy Maestri – National Art School graduate and winner of the Archibald Prize (2009) and the NSW Parliament Plein Air Painting Prize (2013) with works in the National Portrait Gallery and Parliament House collections.
· Ross McDiven – Former Chairman of the Brookfield Multiplex Group (construction) with extensive experience in managing commercial and cultural precincts and partnerships. At Brookfield Mr McDiven led teams across projects including the landmark (Olympic) Stadium Australia, Chifley Tower, King Street Wharf, Luna Park and Jones Bay Wharf amongst others. Former Trustee of the Museum of Applied Arts & Sciences.
· Glenda McLoughlin – Senior Executive with over 25 years’ experience in investment banking. Current member of the NAS board recommended for re-appointment.
· John Mitchell – Partner at Arnold Bloch Leibler law firm and current non-executive director of the board of Carriageworks, a venue renowned for its commercial and cultural enterprise and innovation.
· Susan Rothwell – Architect and visual artist. Former Museum of Contemporary Art Foundation and Art Gallery of NSW Foundation board member.
“I am delighted to recommend these highly credentialed candidates for appointment to the Board and excited about the diverse range of opportunities I know they will unlock for the National Arts School.

MUST READ  Queen Elizabeth II dies at 96

“I would also like to thank the four outgoing board members, Chairperson Nicholas Johnson, David Grayce, Jennifer Green and Mark Tedeschi for their efforts at the School over recent years,” Mr Harwin added. The appointments will be formally considered at the AGM on 28 May 2018 by the shareholding members, Minister Harwin and the Minister for Education Rob Stokes.