Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Poonam Yadav, Smriti Mandhana were among the esteemed awardees ofthe inaugural edition of the Indian Cricket Heroes,whichwas held at Lord’s Cricket Ground, London on 23rd of May ahead of the 2019 ICC World Cup. An initiative by RP Sanjiv Goenka Group, Cornerstoneand Star Sports, the Indian Cricket Heroes is a recognition platform, which aims to elevate the stature of cricket by recognising and rewarding Indian cricketers across the Indian national Men’s and Women’s teams around the world.

ICH being held annually in a different host nation each year, the winners of the Indian Cricket Heroes were announced in a special show broadcast on the Star Sports Network, with a repeat telecast to be aired on 29thMay at 20:00 hrs on Star Sports 1 SD/HD, Star Sports 2 SD/HD, Star Sports Select 1 SD/HD.

Indian Cricket Heroes saw an array of eminent cricket legends, business and political stalwarts,international television, film and sports stars enjoy a ‘gold’ carpet welcome and champagne reception before the awards ceremony, which was hosted by Indian film and music star Farhan Akhtar and renowned television personality ShibaniDhandekar.

MUST READ  Australian captain Pat Cummins to miss second Test

This year’s event crowned the greatest performers in Indian cricket in the last 12 months across nine categories, with a special Heroes Tribute:

• Emerging Cricketer of the Year Female – Radha Yadav
• Emerging Cricketer of the Year Male – Mayank Agarwal
• Bowler of the Year Female – Poonam Yadav
• Bowler of the Year Male – Jasprit Bumrah
• Batter of the Year Female – Smriti Mandhana
• Batter of the Year Male – Rohit Sharma
• Best Performance in India’s Premier T20 Tournament 2019 – Andre Russel
• Best Performance versus India 2019– Sam Curran
• Cricketer of the Year– Jasprit Bumrah
• Heroes Tribute 2019– Yuvraj Singh

The Indian Cricket Heroes Event at Lord’s Cricket Ground on May 23, 2019 in London, England. (Photo by Luke Walker/Getty Images)
 The Indian Cricket Heroes Event at Lord’s Cricket Ground on May 23, 2019 in London, England. (Photo by Luke Walker/Getty Images)
The Indian Cricket Heroes Event at Lord’s Cricket Ground on May 23, 2019 in London, England. (Photo by Luke Walker/Getty Images)

1983 ICC World Cup winning Captain Kapil Dev and Sanjiv Goenka were the co-chairs of the awards jury who attended the event along with the jury members:Ex-IndianWomen’s Cricket Captain and Commentator Anjum Chopra, Commentator Ayaz Memon, World Class off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and former Indian cricketer Mohammad Kaif. Jury advisor andsports statistician Mohandas Menonwas also in attendance.


Speaking about the Indian Cricket Heroes and his role as Co-Chairman of the Jury, cricketing legend and India’s World Cup Winning ex-Captain Kapil Devsaid, “The Indian Cricket Heroes is an important new chapter in India’s annual cricket calendar. This initiative will seek to recognise and award the best talent across the Men’s and Women’s teams from the country.

Choosing the winners for the awards was by no means an easy process and that is testament to the talent of the players. We looked at it from a data perspective but also a personal perspective to commend those who have shown excellence, hunger and professionalism in equal measure – that is what makes a true hero.

The timing and the location of the inaugural edition couldn’t have been better! Holding this event at Lord’s – the home of Cricket, and right before the start of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, is a morale boost for the team!”


The selection process involved Mohandas Menon and Star Sports providing statistics of the performance of eminent cricketers from the award period of 28th May ‘18 – 13th May ‘19. Nominations were shortlisted from the statistics and final nominations were voted by a rich roster of commentators from Star Sports panel. The final awardees were selected by the jury based on their deliberations and voting.

Speaking about the use of data and statistics in the selection process advisor to the jury, Mohandas Menon said: “Cricket is a game of keeping scores, and the numbers the heroes in this room have achieved are unmatchable. It is amazing to see how each player has grown over the years across different formats of the game. A big thank you to Indian Cricket Heroes to spearhead an initiative like this and recognise this talented bunch who have left no stone unturned in bringing laurels to the country.”