The annual KARI Ella Sevens Championship will return to Coffs Harbour this Friday with a record 38 teams taking centre stage.

Now in its twelfth year, the tournament is deemed the flagship event for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Rugby attracting the best emerging players in the country.

The two-day event will kick off at 6:30PM on Friday at C.ex Coffs International Stadium and run all day Saturday with the finals starting at 1:40PM.

There will also be a lineup of rugby stars on the sidelines keeping a close eye on up-and-coming talent including the three Ella brothers; Mark, Glen and Gary as well as former Qantas Wallabies Lloyd Walker and Andrew Walker and former Australian Sevens star Brendan Williams.

MUST READ  Australia vs Afghanistan World cup 2019

With more than $30,000 prize money up for grabs, teams will have double the motivation to claim the men’s and women’s titles.

Executive Officer for the Lloyd McDermott Rugby Development Team Rod Willey said: ‘’The Ella Sevens is one of the greatest traditions in Australian Rugby and has continued to be a fantastic platform for putting Indigenous athletes in the spotlight.

‘’This tournament is famous for unearthing some of the best Indigenous talent and we hope to spot our next Mahalia Murphy or Maurice Longbottom out on the field,’’ said Willey.

The tournament will be streamed LIVE on the Lloyd McDermott Rugby Development Facebook page and replays will be shown on NITV.

MUST READ  Cricket Australia announces Andrew McDonald as Australian Men's Team Senior Assistant Coach

See team lists below:

Women’s teams:

Highlanders – QLD

RAB – Redfern, NSW

Bowraville Women – Bowraville, NSW

Tingha – Tingha, NSW

Gracie Aboriginal Pathways – Campbelltown, NSW

Bungjalung – Casino, NSW

Dunghutti Jindas – Kempsey, NSW

Central Coast – NSW

Valley Girls – Nambucca Valley, NSW

Mob Deep – Redfern, NSW

Men’s teams:

Southern Kings – Nowra, NSW

La Perouse RUFC – NSW

Mehi Warriors – Moree, NSW

Pokolbin Reds – Hunter Valley, NSW

Cangai Boom – Clarence Valley, NSW

Black Crows – La Perouse, NSW

Tingha – Tingha, NSW

Valley Boys Utd – Nambucca Valley, NSW

Skindogs – Sydney, NSW


Nambucca Valley Gurruujabin – Nambucca Valley, NSW

Western Goannas – NSW

Figtree South West Rocks – Cooloondurri, NSW

Gordon Shute Shield Team – Sydney, NSW

Bowraville Bullrouts – Bowraville, NSW

Casino Scorchers – Casino, NSW

Joe Trindall and Vivien Knox Memorial – Tamworth, NSW

Wellington – Wellington, NSW

Gomeroi Goannas – Moree, NSW

Walgett 7s – Walgett, NSW

Sydney Sea Turtles – Sydney, NSW

Bourke Warriors – Bourke, NSW

Mob Deep Redfern – Redfern, NSW

Central Coast – NSW

Kempsey Cannonballs – Kempsey, NSW

Chotch Descendants – North Coast, NSW

Thungutti Wupu – Port Macquarie, NSW

Tingha Old Boys – Tingha, NSW

Hamilton Hawks – Hamilton, NSW