Cricket Australia Announces 2017-18 Men’s International Schedule

  • First Ashes Test returns to Brisbane from 23 November
  • Adelaide to host first ever Ashes Day-Night Test
  • Five ODIs confirmed for January against England
  • Cricket Australia and New Zealand Cricket to jointly host trans-Tasman T20 International tri-series

2017-18 Men’s Ashes Series
First Test – Australia v England, Gabba –  23-27 November 2017

Second Test – Australia v England, Adelaide Oval (Day-Night) – 2-6 December 2017

Third Test – Australia v England, Perth (venue TBC) – 14-18 December 2017

Fourth Test – Australia v England, MCG – 26-30 December 2017

Fifth Test – Australia v England, SCG – 4-8 January 2018

2017-18 One-Day International Series against England

First ODI – Australia v England, MCG – 14 January 2018

Second ODI – Australia v England, Gabba – 19 January 2018

Third ODI – Australia v England, SCG – 21 January 2018

Fourth ODI – Australia v England, Adelaide Oval – 26 January 2018

Fifth ODI – Australia v England, Perth (venue TBC) – 28 January 2018

Prime Minister’s XI
PM’s XI v England – Manuka Oval – 2 February 2018

2017-18 T20 International Trans-Tasman Tri-Series

First T20I – Australia v New Zealand, SCG – 3 February 2018

Second T20I – Australia v England, Blundstone Arena – 7 February 2018


Third T20I – Australia v England, MCG – 10 February 2018

Fourth T20I – New Zealand v England, Wellington Stadium – 14 February 2018

Fifth T20I – New Zealand v Australia, Eden Park – 16 February 2018

Sixth T20I – New Zealand v England, Seddon Park – 18 February 2018

 Final – TBC, Eden Park – 21 February

 *Series then moves to New Zealand for three further matches and final

Cricket Australia and the England and Wales Cricket Board have today confirmed the 2017-18 Men’s Ashes Test schedule, along with the five England One-Day Internationals scheduled for January, immediately following the Test Series.

The first Test will return to Brisbane’s Gabba, a traditional fortress for Australia during the Ashes.

Adelaide Oval will then play host to the first ever Day-Night Ashes Test, as the stadium cements itself to host ongoing Day-Night Tests in the future.

Following Adelaide, the series will move to Perth. Cricket Australia and the WACA continue to work with the WA Government on the possibility of hosting matches at Perth Stadium in 2017-18.

The series will then move to the traditional Boxing Day Test and New Year’s Test in Melbourne and Sydney respectively, where record crowds are expected.

MUST READ  Pramesh Khadka(Founder of Meshed Group, now Educonnect Australia) in conversation with Navneet Anand

Fans wanting to find out more information, including travel package, hospitality and ticketing options can visit Public tickets for the Ashes Series will not go on sale until next year.

Five One-Day Internationals have been scheduled with the touring England side, to be hosted in Melbourne, Brisbane, Sydney, Adelaide and Perth between 14 January and 28 January, with Adelaide hosting the Australia Day fixture.

Cricket Australia together with New Zealand Cricket and the England and Wales Cricket Board also confirmed a T20 International trans-Tasman tri-series will take place from February 2018, with three matches to be hosted in Australia, and four including the final to be hosted in New Zealand. Prior to this the traditional Prime Minister’s XI will be played at Manuka Oval in Canberra against England as a T20 International match on Friday, 2 February.

The Chappell-Hadlee series will not be contested next season, due to the Ashes Series and T20 International tri-series. The trans-Tasman One Day International series will resume the following season.

MUST READ  Entrepreneurship with an idea and only Australian $7.95c : Prabir Saha

Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland said:

“We recognise how big the Ashes is for both home and travelling fans, and the early announcement of the schedule for this series will allow fans here in Australia and abroad to plan their Ashes summer.

“This schedule will allow for at least three Sheffield Shield matches to be completed as preparation prior to the first Ashes Test in Brisbane.

“The decision to start the international season in Brisbane, then moving to Adelaide, allows us to give Perth Stadium the best chance to host the Test match, so we can welcome an even bigger crowd to Perth next summer.

“We’re really excited to announce that Adelaide will play host to the first ever Day-Night Ashes Test. We know how much Adelaide fans love this style of Test cricket. We’re expecting a full house next year in what is sure to be a great contest.”

The Australian Women’s Cricket Team will also host a home Ashes series next season, with that schedule and venues to be confirmed in due course. The 2017-18 domestic schedule will also be announced in due course.