The Morrison Government will recommend to the Governor-General that Ita Buttrose AO OBE be appointed as the next Chair of the ABC. Ms Buttrose is an exceptionally qualified candidate with a comprehensive background in the media industry.

As well as being 2013 Australian of the Year, Ms Buttrose is a member of the Australian Media Hall of Fame, founded Cleo Magazine, was Editor of The Australian Women’s Weekly, Editor in-Chief of the Daily Telegraph, Sunday Telegraph and The Sun-Herald and has worked for all the commercial television broadcasters. Ms Buttrose has also served on the board of News Ltd, on the Advisory Board of the Australian Women Chamber of Commerce & Industry and as Director and board members for a range of charities including the National Breast Cancer Centre Advisory Network, The Smith Family and Alzheimer’s Australia.

MUST READ  Dr Aditya Rattan comes up with first book - Install antivirus in your heart ware

Prime Minister Scott Morrison said Ms Buttrose was an outstanding candidate to steer the ABC as Chair.

“Ita is an extraordinary Australian who will bring decades of media and management experience to the ABC. I can think of no-one better to lead the national broadcaster,” the Prime Minister said.

Minister for Communications Mitch Fifield said Ms Buttrose would be only the second woman to Chair the ABC after Dame Leonie Kramer AC DBE in the early 1980s.

“After a difficult period for the ABC, Ita Buttrose is someone Australians know and can trust to Chair the national broadcaster,” Minister Fifield said.

The Government has followed the legislated process for making this appointment, including considering the report of the independent nomination panel and consulting with the Leader of the Opposition.


The Chair position is part-time for 5 years, with remuneration being set by the Remuneration Tribunal. The Government thanks Dr Kirstin Ferguson for acting in the role of Chair over the past five months. Dr Ferguson will continue on the board as Deputy Chair.