Australian squad selected for 2018 T20 Deaf Cricket World Cup

Coinciding with National Week of Deaf People (23-29 September), the 14-man Australian squad that will tour India for the 2018 Deaf ICC T20 World Cup has been named.

The squad comprises a blend of experience and youth, with the likes of Adam Wood, Luke Trudgett and Andrew Park who have all previously represented the Australian Deaf and Hard of Hearing team, whilst young stars Callum Asbury, David Melling, Austin Phillip and Sean Walsh will be looking to assert their dominance in their first taste at international level.

Eight nations will compete in the World Cup – hosts India, Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka.

MUST READ  Enjoying Gold Cup at the Sydney Polo Club

Following a training camp at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in Brisbane earlier this year, the World Cup also signifies the first time Cricket Australia has fully funded the National Deaf Squad for an International tour, thanks to ongoing support from the Commonwealth Bank.

CA’s Executive General Manager of Community Cricket, Belinda Clark, said:

“This squad is a product of the full pathway that now exists for Deaf and Hard of Hearing cricketers from club through to our annual National Cricket Inclusion Championships,” Clark said.

“I wish the team all the best for this hugely important event and I am sure their performance will inspire Australians and the next generation of Deaf and Hard of Hearing cricketers.”


The squad will travel to New Delhi, India, on 16 November where they will play three practice matches ahead of three World Cup pool matches, with their eyes firmly set on reaching the Semi Finals and Final to be held on 29 and 30 November respectively.

Australian squad
Andrew Park (NSW), Austin Anish Phillip (NSW), Kurt Williams (NSW), Adam Wood (SA), Justin Millard (SA), Luke Trudgett (SA), Sean Walsh (QLD), Blake Pendlebury (VIC), Callum Asbury (VIC), Zac King (VIC), Cameron Wilson (WA), David Melling (WA), James Johnson (WA), Shahrukh Syed (WA).

Coach: Jason Mathers
Assistant Coach: Job Van Bunge
Team Mentor: Dean Barton Smith AM