Australia squads named for Commonwealth Bank T20I and ODI series against Sri Lanka

RACHAEL HAYNES, ALYSSA HEALY and ASHLEIGH GARDNER will be available to media in Sydney at 10:30am at Bradley’s Head Amphitheatre, Bradleys Head Rd, Mosman NSW. Lucy Williams (0419 259 697) will manage this opportunity.

BETH MOONEY will be available to media at 11am today in Brisbane at Allan Border Field, in front of the Matthew Hayden Stand. Stephen Gray (0418 885 899) will manage this opportunity.

cThe Cricket Australia National Selection Panel (NSP) has announced the following squads for the Commonwealth Bank T20I and ODI series between Australia and Sri Lanka starting in Sydney on Sunday:

Commonwealth Bank T20I squad
1. Meg Lanning (c) (Victoria)
2. Rachael Haynes (vc) (New South Wales)
3. Erin Burns (New South Wales)
4. Nicola Carey (Tasmania)
5. Ashleigh Gardner (New South Wales)
6. Heather Graham (Western Australia)
7. Alyssa Healy (New South Wales)
8. Jess Jonassen (Queensland)
9. Delissa Kimmince (Queensland)
10. Beth Mooney (Queensland)
11. Ellyse Perry (Victoria)
12. Megan Schutt (South Australia)
13. Tayla Vlaeminck (Victoria)
14. Georgia Wareham (Victoria)

Commonwealth Bank ODI squad
1. Meg Lanning (c) (Victoria)
2. Rachael Haynes (vc) (New South Wales)
3. Nicola Carey (Tasmania)
4. Ashleigh Gardner (New South Wales)
5. Heather Graham (Western Australia)
6. Alyssa Healy (New South Wales)
7. Jess Jonassen (Queensland)
8. Delissa Kimmince (Queensland)
9. Beth Mooney (Queensland)
10. Ellyse Perry (Victoria)
11. Megan Schutt (South Australia)
12. Tayla Vlaeminck (Victoria)
13. Georgia Wareham (Victoria)

MUST READ  Have your say on $1 billion infrastructure funding plan for Parramatta CBD

The two sides will contest three Twenty20 Internationals in Sydney and three One-Day Internationals in Brisbane, with ICC Women’s Championship points up for grabs in the three 50-over fixtures.

Australia holds top spot on the ladder, two wins ahead of England having played three less matches than the World Cup champions. At the end of the Championship, the top four teams will gain direct qualification to the ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 in New Zealand.

Speaking on the selection of the squad, National Selector Shawn Flegler said:

“The selectors have elected to stick with the same group of players that completed a 6-0 tour whitewash against the West indies recently with Erin Burns the unlucky player to miss out on the ODI squad.

“It’s been a big few months for the players with an away Ashes series and a short turnaround from the West Indies tour, and with back-to-back T20 matches we have named an extra player in the T20 squad as cover.

“With the T20 World Cup just under five months away it’s crucial to find some consistency in the T20 squad, and we feel like we have that which is pleasing.


“Sri Lanka is an up and coming side and will provide a good challenge across both formats, with the series also presenting the team with the opportunity to fine tune its preparations ahead of that World Cup.”

The series’ will be broadcast on the Seven Network, Fox Cricket, Kayo, ABC Radio and Macquarie Sports Radio.

Selectors have also named a Cricket Australia XI that will take on Sri Lanka in a Twenty20 match at Hurstville Oval on Friday. South Australia all-rounder Tahlia McGrath will captain the side, with Western Australia’s Heather Graham her deputy, while Leah Poulton will coach the side.

Cricket Australia XI
1. Tahlia McGrath (C) (23, South Australia)
2. Heather Graham (vc) (23, Western Australia)
3. Darcie Brown (16, South Australia)
4. Stella Campbell (17, New South Wales)
5. Hannah Darlington (17, New South Wales)
6. Josie Dooley (19, Queensland)
7. Nicole Faltum (19, Victoria)
8. Charli Knott (16, Queensland)
9. Phoebe Litchfield (16, New South Wales)
10. Hayley Silver-Holmes (16, New South Wales)
11. Annabel Sutherland (17, Victoria)
12. Tahlia Wilson (19, New South Wales)

Head Coach: Leah Poulton (Cricket Australia High Performance Coach)
Assistant Coach: Dominic Thornely (Head Coach – New South Wales)


Speaking on the make-up of the squad, Poulton said:

“The selectors have picked an exciting squad that features a mix of the best emerging talent from a range of pathway programs for the fixture which presents the players with a fantastic opportunity to test themselves against international opposition.

“Tahlia and Heather, who have both spent time in the Australian setup and have a large amount of experience at domestic level, will provide great leadership to the young group.

“For players like Darcie, Charli, Phoebe and Hayley who are just 16 years of age, this match is another important step in their development and no doubt they’ll benefit from the experience of being around more experience players.”


Tour Match
27 September, 2pm – Cricket Australia XI v Sri Lanka, Hurstville Oval, Sydney

Twenty20 Internationals
29 September, 2:40pm – Australia v Sri Lanka, North Sydney Oval, Sydney
30 September, 7:10pm – Australia v Sri Lanka, North Sydney Oval, Sydney
2 October, 2:10pm – Australia v Sri Lanka, North Sydney Oval, Sydney

One-Day Internationals*
5 October, 10am – Australia v Sri Lanka, Allan Border Field, Brisbane
7 October, 10am – Australia v Sri Lanka, Allan Border Field, Brisbane
9 October, 10am – Australia v Sri Lanka, Allan Border Field, Brisbane